2022 Emmys Best Supporting Actress in Comedy Predictions

While “Ted Lasso” is still a favorite to win best supporting actress in a comedy, the “Abbott Elementary” stars have been gaining significant ground.

consider it

Last year’s winners: Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”
Still eligible: Yes.
Hot Series: Schitt’s Creek star Annie Murphy ended a string of actresses winning in the category in back-to-back two-year winning streaks. Interestingly, the “Ted Lasso” star certainly has a shot at bringing this back, but two past winners from that run, Alex Borstein (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”) and Kate McKinnon (“Saturday Night Live”) are both in too this year in competition.
Notable ineligible series: none.

This article will be updated throughout the season along with all of our predictions, so make sure to check IndieWire regularly for the latest news from the 2022 Emmys race. The nomination round will take place June 16-27, with the official Emmy nominations being announced on Tuesday, July 12. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be held on two consecutive nights on Saturday, September 3 and Sunday, September 4, with an edited presentation of the ceremonies to air on FXX on Saturday, September 10 at 8:00 p.m. ET. Finally, the 74th annual Primetime Emmy Awards will be held on Monday, September 12 and will air live on NBC at 8:00pm ET/5:00pm PT.

The state of the race

Of all the acting races involving “Ted Lasso” stars, this seems to be the most vulnerable to a nominee from another series. With only one win under her belt, Hannah Waddingham continues to dazzle TV Academy, but many of the people who have supported Broadcast TV’s comeback see the Abbott Elementary ensemble as undeniably award-worthy.

The one thing that’s really stopping ABC sitcom’s real breakout Janelle James from winning is that while Waddingham has been decided to be the “Ted Lasso” representative, likely beating co-stars Juno Temple and Sarah Niles , but there are a lot of people who feel winning Sheryl Lee Ralph could be an amazing moment for an actress that has given us great TV performances for decades. It’s also interesting that being one of the “Abbott Elementary” stars would make her only the second black woman ever to be recognized for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series (the first being Jackée Harry for “227” in 1987).

All in all, Kate McKinnon has won this Emmy before, and voters might be interested in giving it back to her for her farewell season of Saturday Night Live. Newcomer Hannah Einbinder has also really stepped on the gas in season 2 of “Hacks”, so there is little chance that she will join her scene partner Jean Smart as an Emmy winner this year.

What doesn’t feel in the cards, and makes us sound like a broken record at this point, is for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel star Alex Borstein to win again when she’s already won that Emmy category twice and the show has hers heyday is behind him.

Power Rankings:

  1. Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
  2. Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary School” (ABC)
  3. Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary School” (ABC)
  4. Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
  5. Hannah Einbinder, “Hacks” (HBO Max)
  6. Juno Temple, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
  7. Sarah Niles, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
  8. Alex Borstein, “The Wonderful Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)

Will win: Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”
Could win: Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary School”
Should win: Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary School”

Registration: Stay up to date on the latest movie and TV news! Sign up for our email newsletter here.

https://www.indiewire.com/feature/2022-emmys-best-supporting-actress-comedy-predictions-1234721114/ 2022 Emmys Best Supporting Actress in Comedy Predictions

Lindsay Lowe

World Time Todays is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@worldtimetodays.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button