British Independent Film Awards 2022 Winners List

10 of the night’s biggest awards went to women or films directed by them.

It was a historic night for women filmmakers at the British Independent Film Awards, with 10 of the night’s biggest awards going to women or films directed by them. The night’s biggest winner was ‘Aftersun’, which won Best British Independent Film, as well as Best Director, Best Screenplay and Best Director for Charlotte Wells. The film also took home awards for camera, editing and musical direction.

Georgia Oakley’s “Blue Jean” also performed strongly, with Rosy McEwen winning Best Actress and Kerrie Hayes winning Best Supporting Actress and Oakley winning Best Debut Screenwriter. Shaheen Baig also won best casting for the film.

Despite fierce competition from films such as “Departure Decision” and “Everything Everywhere at Once”, Joachim Trier’s “The Worst Person in the World” was honored as the best independent international film.

Read on for the full list of British Independent Film Awards 2022 nominees, with winners in bold.

Best British Independent Film
“After Sun”
“Blue jeans”
“Good luck to you, Leo Grande”
“The wonder”

Best Director
Oliver Hermanus, “Alive”
Sophie Hyde, “Good Luck to You, Leo Grande”
Sebastian Lelio, “The Miracle”
Georgia Oakley, “Blue Jeans”
Charlotte Wells, “After Sun”

Best Screenplay
Katy Brand, “Good Luck Leo Grande”
Kazuo Ishiguro, “Life”
Sebastian Lelio, Alice Birch, Emma Donoghue, “The Miracle”
Georgia Oakley, “Blue Jeans”
Charlotte Wells, “After Sun”

Best lead performance
Sally Hawkins, “The Lost King”
Cosmo Jarvis, “It’s Within All of Us”
Emma Mackey, “Emily”
Rosy McEwen, “Blue Jeans”
Bill Nighty, “Life”
Florence Pugh, “The Miracle”
Emily Watson, “God’s Creatures”
Hala Zein, “Nezouh”

Best Supportive Performance
Zoey Deutch, “The Outfit”
Aisling Franciosi, “God’s Creatures”
Lucy Halliday, “Blue Jeans”
Kerrie Hayes, “Blue Jeans”
Zainab Joda, “Our river…our sky”
Fatma Mohamed, “Flux Gourmet”
Paul Mescal, “God’s Creatures”
Fionn Weisskopf, “Emily”
Aimee Lou Wood, “Life”

Best Joint Lead Performance
Frankie Corio, Paul Mescal “Aftersun”
Daryl McCormack, Emma Thompson, “Good Luck Leo Grande”
Jessie Buckley, Rory Kinnear “Men”
Tamara Lawrance, Letitia Wright, The Silent Twins

Best ensemble performance
“Blue jeans”
“River Gourmet”
“Our river…our sky”
“The wonder”

breakthrough performance
Frankie Corio, “After Sun”
Leo Long, “I used to be famous”
Kila Lord Cassidy, “The Miracle”
Rosy McEwen, “Blue Jeans”
Safia Oakley-Green, “The Origin”

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)
Andrew Cumming, “The Origin”
Thomas Hardiman, “Medusa Deluxe”
Frances O’Connor, “Emily”
Georgia Oakley, “Blue Jeans”
Charlotte Wells, “After Sun”

Best Debut Screenwriter
Shane Crowley, “God’s Creatures”
David Earl, Chris Hayward, “Brian and Charles”
Ruth Greenberg, “The Origin”
Georgia Oakley, “Blue Jeans”
Charlotte Wells, “After Sun”

Best Debut Director – Documentary
Kathryn Ferguson, “Nothing Compares”
Victoria Fiore Nascondino, “Hide and Seek”
Leah Gordon, Eddie Hutton Mills, “Canaval”
Jono McLeod, “My Old School”
Becky Hutner, “Fashion Reimagined”

Best Documentary,
“My childhood, my country – 20 years in Afghanistan”
“My Old School”
“Hide and seek”
“Nothing Compares”
“Young Plato”

Best International Independent Film
“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”
“decision to go”
“Everything everywhere at once”
“Worst Man in the World”

Best cast
Shaheen Baig, “Blue Jeans”
Leila Bertrand, “Our River… Our Sky”
Kharmel Cochrane, “The Silent Twins”
Kahleen Crawford, “Life”
Lucy Pardee, “After Sun”

Best cinematography
Alfredo De Juan, “Hide and Seek”
Rob Hardy, “Men”
Joel Honeywell, “Canaval”
Gregory Oke, “After Sun”
Ari Wegner, “The Miracle”

Best Costume Design
Jenny Beavan, “Mrs Harris Goes to Paris”
Saffron Cullane, “Flux Gourmet”
Odile Dicks-Mireaux, “The Miracle”
Frank Gallacher, “After Sun”
Sandy Powell, “Life”

Best edit
Joanna Crickmay, “Elizabeth: A Portrait in Parts”
Izabella Curry, “Blue Jeans”
Matyas Fekete, “Flux Gourmet”
Mick Mahon, “Nothing Compares”
Blair McClendon, “After Sun”

Best Original Music
Danny Bensi, Saunder Jurriaans, “God’s Creatures”
Oliver Coates, “After Sun”
Matthew Herbert, “The Miracle”
Adam Janota Bzowski, “The Origin”
Ben Salisbury, Geoff Barrow “Men”

Best makeup and hair design
Oya Aygor, Murat Çagin, “Aftersun”
Morna Ferguson, Lorri Ann King, “The Miracle”
Siobhan Harper-Ryan, “Flux Gourmet”
Niamh Morrison, “The Origin”
Eugene Souleiman, Scarlett O’Connell, “Medusa Deluxe”

Best Effects
Chris Marshall, “The Feast”
David Simpson, “Men”
Ahmed Yousry, “Nezouh”

Best music support
Lucy Bright, “After Sun”
Phil Canning, “The Phantom of the Open”
Rupert Hollier, “Life”

best sound
Tim Harrison, Raoul Brand, Cassandra Rutledge, “Flux Gourmet”
Glenn Freemantle, Ben Barker, Gillian Dodders, Howard Bargoff, Mitch Low, “Men”
Jovan Ajder, “After Sun”
Hugh Fox, Ben Baird, “The Miracle”
Dom Corbisiero, Dai Shell, “The Feast”

Best Production Design
Fletcher Jarvis, “Flux Gourmet”
Grant Montgomery, “The Miracle”
Helen Scott, “Life”
Billur Turan, “Night Sun”
Gary Williamson, “Medusa Deluxe”

Registration: Stay up to date on the latest movie and TV news! Sign up for our email newsletter here. British Independent Film Awards 2022 Winners List

Lindsay Lowe

World Time Todays is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button