Complete list of 2023 Independent Spirit Award nominees

“Emily the Criminal”, “Aftersun”, “Bones and All” and “The Inspection” also earned notable nominations.

The 2023 Film Independent Spirit Award nominations were announced on Tuesday 22 November, crowning the year’s finest achievements in indie film. The awards show is over three months away — it’s taking place in Santa Monica on March 4 — but these films are gaining prominence as they head towards the Oscars and other accolades in the coming months. This year’s nominees were announced by presenters Taylour Paige (a March winner for Best Female Lead, representing “Zola”) and Raúl Castillo (a Best Supporting Male Actor nominee for 2018’s “We the Animals”). This year’s TV nominees will be announced later on December 13th.

For the first time for Film Independent, this year’s awards shifted to gender-neutral acting categories in leading and supporting actors in film and television. Other category updates include new awards for Best Breakthrough Achievement (Film) and Best Supporting Achievement in a New Screenplay Series (TV). All performance categories, with the exception of Breakthrough Performance, could have up to 10 nominees.

Earlier this year, the organization also announced that the budget cap for eligible films had increased to $30 million, with the John Cassavetes Award budget cap now being $1 million. Meanwhile, in response to the ongoing impact of COVID on filmmakers and the industry, Film Independent is once again waiving the theatrical release normally required for eligibility and offering more opportunities for independent filmmakers to be recognized and celebrated.

The Film Independent Spirit Award nominations mark the second major indie awards block to determine its nominees for the Year in Films. Back in late October, the Gotham Awards announced their lineup for the November 28 ceremony in New York, with films such as TAR, Everything Everywhere All at Once and Aftersun leading the field.

You can view the Film Independent Spirit Award nominations virtually on YouTube.

Best feature

“Bones and All”

“Everything everywhere at once”

“Our Father the Devil”


“Women in Conversation”

Best Director

Todd Field, “TAR”

Kogonada, “After Yang”

Daniels, “Everything Everywhere at Once”

Sarah Polley, “Women in Conversation”

Halina Reijn, “Body Body Body”

Best First Feature

“After Sun”

“Emily the Criminal”

“The Inspection”


“Palm Trees and Power Lines”

Best lead performance

Cate Blanchett, “TAR”

Dale Dickey, “A Love Song”

Mia Goth, “Pearl”

Regina Hall, “Horn for Jesus, Save Your Soul”

Paul Mescal, “After Sun”

Aubrey Plaza, “Emily the Criminal”

Jeremy Pope, “The Inspection”

Taylor Russell, “Bone and All”

Andrea Riseborough, “To Leslie”

Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere at Once”

Best Supportive Performance

Jamie Lee Curtis, “Everything Everywhere at Once”

Brian Tyree Henry, “Causeway”

Nina Hoss, “TAR”

Brian d’Arcy James, “The Cathedral”

Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere at Once”

Trevante Rhodes, “Bruiser”

Theo Rossi, “Emily the Criminal”

Mark Rylance, “Bone and All”

Jonathan Tucker, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”

Gabrielle Union, “The Inspection”

breakthrough performance

Frankie Corio, “After Sun”

Gracija Filipovic, “Murina”

Stephanie Hsu, “Everything Everywhere at Once”

Lily McInerny, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”

Daniel Zolghadri, “Funny Pages”

Best Screenplay

“After Yang”

“Catherine named Birdy”

“Everything everywhere at once”


“Women in Conversation”

Best First Screenplay

“body body body”


“Emily the Criminal”

“Fire Island”

“Palm Trees and Power Lines”

Best cinematography

“After Sun”


“Neptune Frost”



Best edit

“After Sun”


“Everything everywhere at once”

“Marcel the Shell with shoes on”


Robert Altman Prize

“Women in Conversation”

Best Documentary

“A House of Splinters”

“Everything That Breathes”

“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed”


“Riotsville USA”

Best International Film



“Leonor will never die”

“Return to the Soul”

“Holy Omer”

Someone at the Reputation price

Adamma Ebo, “Honk for Jesus, save your soul”

Nikyatu Jusu, “nanny”

Araceli Lemos, “Saint Emy”

Trueer Than Fiction award

Isabel Castro, “Miya”

Reid Davenport, “I Didn’t See You There”

Rebeca Huntt, “Beba (Bayba)”

John Cassavetes Prize

“The African despairs”

“A Lovesong”


“Holy Emma”

“Something in the Dirt”

producer price

Liz Cardenas

Tory Lenosky

David Grove Churchill Viste

Registration: Stay up to date on the latest movie and TV news! Sign up for our email newsletter here. Complete list of 2023 Independent Spirit Award nominees

Lindsay Lowe

World Time Todays is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button