Complete list of Republicans who voted against the Interracial Marriage Act

36 Republicans voted Tuesday against the Respect for Marriage Act, a law designed to protect same-sex and interracial marriages in the United States.

Twelve Republicans voted for the bill, which passed the Senate by a vote of 61 to 36. Among those supporting the measure was GOP Senator Rob Portman, whose views on gay marriage changed after his son came out as gay in 2013. The bill is now one step closer to becoming law as Democrats face their final weeks as the dominant party in the House of Representatives after Republicans secured a majority in midterm elections this month.

The 36 Republicans who voted against the bill are: Senators John Barrasso; Marsha Blackburn; John Boozman; Mike Brown; Bill Cassidy; John Cornyn; tom cotton; Kevin Cramer; Mike Crapo; Ted Cruz; Steve Daines; Deb Fischer; Lindsey Graham; Chuck Grassley; Bill Hagerty; Josh Hawley; John Hoeven; Cindy Hyde Smith; Jim Inhofe; Ron Johnson; John Neley Kennedy; James Lankford; Mike Lee; Roger Marshall; Mitch McConnell; Jerry Moran; Edge Paul; Jim Risch; Mike Rounds; Marco Rubio; Rick Scott; Tim Scott; Richard Shelby; John Thune; Tommy Tuberville; and Roger Wicker.

The bill’s advancement also came amid fears that same-sex marriages in the US could be at risk after the Supreme Court was overturned Roe v. calf in June, federal abortion rights are being rolled back nearly 50 years after the landmark decision.

Conservative Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas issued a unanimous opinion at the time, suggesting the court should “reconsider” several other cases, including Obergefell v. Hodgesthe 2015 decision that legalized same-sex marriage nationwide.

mitch mcconnell interracial marriage republican
Senate Republican Minority Leader Mitch McConnell of Kentucky speaks to reporters Tuesday after a meeting with Senate Republicans at the US Capitol in Washington, DC. He was among 36 Republicans who voted against the Respect for Marriage Act.
Drew Angerer/Getty Images

The Respect for Marriage Act does not ensure that same-sex marriages remain legal in all US states, but it would require states that prohibit same-sex marriages to recognize legal same-sex marriages from other states if they did upper skin has tipped over.

The bill also aims to protect interracial marriages by requiring states to recognize legal marriages regardless of “gender, race, ethnicity, or national origin.”

The bill now goes back to the House of Representatives, where it is expected to pass quickly. The House of Representatives passed a version of the law in July, but it has since been amended to provide protections for religious liberties in order to garner support from GOP senators who might otherwise have opposed it. Twelve GOP senators joined Democrats Monday, 61 votes to 35, to call the cloture or end the debate to move the legislation forward until Tuesday’s final vote.

After the House of Representatives, the bill goes to President Joe Biden for final signature. The President has Approved that he plans to sign the bill when and as soon as it gets on his desk.

“President Biden is asking Congress to put the Respect for Marriage Act on his desk to secure the fundamental right of Americans to marry the person they love,” the White House said tweeted on 11/19 Complete list of Republicans who voted against the Interracial Marriage Act

Rick Schindler

World Time Todays is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button