‘Grey’s Anatomy’ Renewed For Season 20 On ABC – New Showrunner

Grey’s anatomy still has a pulse: ABC has renewed the hit medical drama for its 20th season, TVLine has learned. Additionally, the network announced that executive producer Meg Marinis will take the reins as showrunner for the next season, replacing the outgoing Krista Vernoff.

The extension extends the show’s record as the longest-running prime-time medical drama in television history; Grays premiered on ABC in 2005. It’s still a ratings powerhouse and ranks as ABC’s top entertainment series in its key demographic of adults 18-49. The season 19 finale airs Thursday, May 18.

Marinis was executive producer on Grays since season 15; She began as a production assistant on the series back in Season 3 and worked her way up to permanent writer and then EP, writing a total of 35 episodes. She takes over from Vernoff, who announced her departure Grays And train station 19 back in January.

“It was the privilege of my life to be entrusted with the race Grey’s anatomy in the last six years and train station 19 for the last four,” Vernoff said in a statement. “The passion of the dedicated fandom and the impact these shows have on hearts and minds cannot be overstated. The talent of these two extraordinary casts and these two brilliant writers’ rooms is immeasurable – and these crews pull off true magic week in and week out.”

Grays has also undergone a changing of the guard in front of the camera: series star Ellen Pompeo is no longer a full-time cast member, her last episode as a series airing regularly last month. However, she is slated to return as Meredith Gray on a regular basis, including for the season finale in May and at least one episode before that.

The current cast includes a host of fresh faces who joined at the start of season 19 to play the new class of residents. Other regulars include Chandra Wilson as Miranda Bailey, James Pickens Jr. as Richard Webber, Kevin McKidd as Owen Hunt, Kim Raver as Teddy Altman, Kelly McCreary as Maggie Pierce, Anthony Hill as Winston Ndugu, Caterina Scorsone as Amelia Shepherd, Camilla Luddington as Jo Wilson, Chris Carmack as Link Lincoln and Jake Borelli as Levi Schmitt.

TVLine’s Renewal Scorecard has been updated to reflect the news. Are you happy about it Grays Scrub back in for season 20? Click on the comments to share your thoughts on the renewal.

https://tvline.com/2023/03/24/greys-anatomy-renewed-season-20-new-showrunner-meg-marinis-abc/ ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ Renewed For Season 20 On ABC – New Showrunner

Related Articles

Back to top button