NFL’s Most Valuable Player Nominees Spark Fierce Debate – “C’mon”

The finalists for the 2022 NFL Awards have been announced, including the five players battling for the Most Valuable Player (MVP) crowning.

A new voting system was used this time around, where people had a shot at their five MVP picks, while the top three can be voted on over the other awards.

The 12th annual NFL honors ceremony will be broadcast live on February 9, and the selection has once again sparked heated debate on social media over who deserves the top honors.

The MVP sees four quarterbacks and one wide receiver in the last five, with Buffalo Bills’ Josh Allen, Cincinnati Bengals’ Joe Burrow, Philadelphia Eagles’ Jalen Hurts, Minnesota Vikings’ Justin Jefferson and Kansas City Chiefs’ Patrick Mahomes .

Jalen hurts
Jalen Hurts #1 of the Philadelphia Eagles runs the ball during the NFC Divisional Playoff game at Lincoln Financial Field on January 21, 2023 against the New York Giants
Getty Images

AP Most Valuable Player

  • Josh Allen, Bill’s QB
  • Joe Burrow, Bengals QB
  • Jalen Hurts, Eagles QB
  • Justin Jefferson, Vikings WR
  • Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs QB

There has been a lot of discussion on social media about the various qualities these players bring to their teams and to the NFL, without there appearing to be a single player
unanimously to win.

One person championed Bengals star Burrows, tweeting: “None of these guys have done more for their franchise than Burrow. Just three years ago we were well on our way to continuing a 30-year mediocre streak.

“Joe Burrow changed that culture. He beats Mahomes for the fourth time in a row and the case is closed.”

This received many responses, with one comment back: “Change the culture, huh? The Chiefs hadn’t won a Superbowl in 50 years before Mahomes. The Bengals are still waiting for their Superbowl victory.”

A third pointed out on Twitter: “Unfortunate that Hurts and Burrow and Allen didn’t play full seasons and Mahomes got the one seed to get one of the easiest MVPs ever. Brady had better stats and offense last year and lost .”

While another believes it should be a done deal, he tweeted: “Do the right thing and give it to Burrow. He turned the entire Bengals organization inside out in three years. Give this man some credit.”

Vikings wide receiver Jefferson became popular on social media, with many pointing out that he made the list without the help of an offensive line to protect him.

One person tweeted: “Justin Jefferson single handedly won the Vikings games. He was the most valuable player on one of the best teams in the league.”

Joe Burrow
Joe Burrow #9 of the Cincinnati Bengals calls for a game at the line of scrimmage against the Buffalo Bills during the second half at Highmark Stadium on January 22, 2023
Getty Images

Other awards include Defensive Player of the Year, Offensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year.

The Top Coach award will be contested between the Giants’ Brian Daboll, Bills’ Sean McDermott, Jaguars’ Doug Pederson, 49ers’ Kyle Shanahan and Eagles’ Nick Sirianni.

Here are the other award winners:

Defensive Player of the Year

Offensive Player of the Year

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Justin Jefferson
Justin Jefferson #18 of the Minnesota Vikings runs after a catch in the first quarter against the New York Giants in the NFC Wild Card Playoff game at US Bank Stadium on January 15, 2023
Getty Images

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Comeback Player of the Year

coach of the year

  • Brian Daboll, Giants
  • Sean McDermott, Bills
  • Doug Pederson, Jaguars
  • Kyle Shanahan, 49ers
  • Nick Sirianni, Adler

Assistant Coach of the Year

  • Ben Johnson, Lions OK
  • DeMeco Ryans, 49ers DC
  • Shane Steichen, Eagles OC

Do you have a tip about a sports story that news week should cover? Have a question about the NFL? Let us know at NFL’s Most Valuable Player Nominees Spark Fierce Debate – “C’mon”

Rick Schindler

World Time Todays is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button